Jul 6 – 10, 2015
Institute of Nuclear Physics PAN, Kraków
Europe/Warsaw timezone

Co<sub>12</sub>Fe<sub>7</sub> magnetic molecular cluster - on the way to control multifunctional discrete molecular materials architecture

Jul 7, 2015, 8:30 PM
1h 30m
Olimpia Conference Room (Crown Piast Hotel)

Olimpia Conference Room

Crown Piast Hotel

Board: 9


Mr Mirosław Arczyński (Faculty of Chemistry, Jagiellonian University, Kraków)


Since their discovery Prussian Blue Analogs (PBAs) have become a driving force for many fruitful discoveries on the route to control the quantum nanoworld [1]. For example study of CoII-FeIII(CN)6 PBAs resulted in the burst of interest because of its nonmagnetic to magnetic photo-induced transition. Along with the miniaturization tendencies and in connection with Single-Molecule Magnets (SMMs) development, many fascinating discrete molecular materials were discovered i.e. Fe4Co2 light induced single molecule magnet [2] or Fe4Co4 [3a], Fe2Co2 [3b], and FeCo [3c] complexes possessing the metallic core geometry that can be considered as ‘slices’ of PBAs. We contribute to this unique group of molecules with an unprecedented [Co(1,10-tdapO2)2]6[Co(1,10-tdapO2)(MeCN)]6[Fe(CN)6]7](BF4)3∙xMeCN (Co12Fe7) cluster, whose metallic core resembles a part of a unit cell of CoII-FeIII(CN)6 PBA (Figure 1). This compound contains recently reported redox active [1,2,5]thiadiazolo[3,4-f][1,10]phenanthroline 1,1-dioxide (1,10-tdapO2) ligand, which makes it a perfect subject for studying the photo-induced energy transfer between metals and ligands within a discrete molecule. Synthesis, structural analysis, and magnetic properties, concluded with foresights for the development of other congeners will be presented. References [1] H. Tokoro and S. Ohkoshi, Dalton Trans. 2011, 40, 6825–6833. [2] N. Hoshino, F. Iijima, G. N. Newton, N. Yoshida, T. Shiga, H. Nojiri, A. Nakao, R. Kumai, Y. Murakami and H. Oshio, Nat. Chem. 2012, 4, 921–926. [3] a) Li, D.; Clérac, R.; Roubeau, O.; Harté, E.; Mathonière, C.; Le Bris, R.; Holmes, S. M.; J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2008, 130, 252-258. b) A. Mondal, Y. Li, M. Seuleiman, M. Julve, L. Toupet, M. Buron-Le Cointe and R. Lescouëzec, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2013, 135, 1653–1656. c) E. S. Koumousi, I. Jeon, Q. Gao, P. Dechambenoit, D. N. Woodru, P. Merzeau, L. Buisson, X. Jia, D. Li, F. Volatron and C. Mathonie, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2014, 136, 15461–15464.

Primary author

Mr Mirosław Arczyński (Faculty of Chemistry, Jagiellonian University, Kraków)


Prof. Barbara Sieklucka (Faculty of Chemistry, Jagiellonian University, Kraków) Dr Dawid Pinkowicz (Faculty of Chemistry, Jagiellonian University, Kraków)

Presentation materials