Jul 6 – 10, 2015
Institute of Nuclear Physics PAN, Kraków
Europe/Warsaw timezone

Cyanide-bridged Mn<sup>II</sup>-Nb<sup>IV</sup> ferrimagnetic coordination chains with ferromagnetic ordering

Jul 7, 2015, 8:30 PM
1h 30m
Olimpia Conference Room (Crown Piast Hotel)

Olimpia Conference Room

Crown Piast Hotel

Board: 13


Mr Michał Magott (Faculty of Chemistry, Jagiellonian University, Kraków)


We have synthesized two new coordination chain compounds consisting of manganese(II), 2,2'-bipyridyl and octacyanoniobate(IV), both of them exhibiting ferromagnetic ordering. The first one [MnII(bpy)(H2O)2]2[Nb(CN)8]•5H2O 1 is isostructural with the manganese-octacyanotungstate vertex-sharing squares chain already reported by Ohkoshi et al. [1], while the second one [MnII(bpy)(H2O)2][Mn(bpy)2][Nb(CN)8]•4H2O 2 shows a topology that has not been observed yet and can be described as a chain of perpendicularly laying squares. Both compounds exhibit antiferromagnetic intrachain interactions within the NbIV-CN-MnII structural motifs typical for manganese-octacyanoniobate compounds, but also long-range ferromagnetic ordering (LRFO) below their critical temperatures (Tc) of 7.0 and 5.3 K, respectively, which is quite unusual for one-dimensional topology [2,3,4]. This can be explained only on the basis of significant ferromagnetic interchain interactions, which are assured by the interchain π-π contacts of the bipyridine rings and hydrogen bonds between coordination and crystallization water molecules. Additionally, although both chains show great structural similarity, a distinct difference in the octacyanoniobate(IV) geometry is observed, which might have some impact on the magnetic properties. [1] Noriaki Ozaki, Ryo Yamada, Koji Nakabayashi, Shin-ichi Ohkoshi, Acta Crystallographica Section E, 2011, E67, m702-703 [2] Olivier Kahn, Molecular Magnetism, VCH, Weinheim 1993 [3] Rabindranath Pradhan, Cedric Desplanches, Philippe Guionneau, Jean-Pascal Sutter, Inorganic Chemistry, 2003, 42, 6607-6609 [4] Xiangyu Liu et al., Dalton Transactions, 2014, 43, 15359

Primary authors

Dr Dawid Pinkowicz (Faculty of Chemistry, Jagiellonian University, Kraków) Mr Michał Magott (Faculty of Chemistry, Jagiellonian University, Kraków)


Prof. Barbara Sieklucka (Faculty of Chemistry, Jagiellonian University, Kraków)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.