

Extremes of the Nuclear Landscape

August 25 – September 1, 2024, Zakopane, Poland

Second Circular

Dear Colleagues,

The 57th Zakopane Conference on Nuclear Physics in the series of Zakopane School of Physics "Extremes of the Nuclear Landscape" will be held in Zakopane, Poland during the week of August 25th - September 1st, 2024.

With this second circular, we would like to kindly invite you to attend the upcoming Conference and to provide further information on the event.

Conference website: https://zakopane2024.ifj.edu.pl

Scientific Program

Most of the Conference time will be devoted to reviews and reports on the latest achievements in nuclear research. The program of the Conference will consist in part of a series of topical sessions focused on and convened by:

- Piotr Bednarczyk (IFJ PAN, Kraków) High spin states
- Jacek Dobaczewski (University of York and University of Warsaw) Recent advances, applications, and ab initio derivations of nuclear DFT
- Alexandra Gade (MSU, East Lansing) Structure of exotic nuclei
- Silvia Leoni (INFN and University of Milan) Various facets of shape coexistence
- Adam Maj (IFJ PAN, Kraków) Collective properties of atomic nuclei
- Aurora Tumino (University of Enna and INFN LNS, Catania) Nuclear astrophysics
- Jonathan Wilson (IJCLab, Orsay) Nuclear fission

The scientific program will consist of invited plenary lectures, contributed presentations, and poster presentations.

Posters (B1 format, portrait orientation) will be presented at the dedicated Poster Session, during which authors are expected to present and discuss their work. Best posters can be published in the conference proceedings. Winners of the poster competition will be awarded a special cash prize founded by NuPECC.

Abstract Submission

Abstracts should be submitted via our website:

https://zakopane2024.ifj.edu.pl/abstracts

Abstract submission is open from February 12th, 2024. Abstract submission **deadline - April 14th, 2024**.

Author notification - after May 10th, 2024.

Registration

Registration for the conference is open. All participants are kindly asked to register via:

https://indico.ifj.edu.pl/event/1123/page/241-registration

Registration opening: March 27th, 2024. Registration closing: June 30th, 2024.

Participation and Conference Fee

The conference will take place in the "Hyrny" Conference Center in Zakopane (https://hyrny.pl/).

The full cost of participation (including accommodation and full board, if paid before May 20th, 2024):

- Participant (double room accommodation) 4650 PLN
- Participant (single room accommodation) 5650 PLN
- Accompanying person 3600 PLN

The number of single rooms available is limited. Rooms will be allocated on a first-come-first-served basis. After May 20th, 2024 a late payment fee of 500 PLN will apply.

The conference fee covers participation in all sessions, accommodation in the "Hyrny" Conference Center, full board, bus transfer from Krakow to Zakopane on the first day and from Zakopane to Krakow on the last day of the conference, as well as the social events.

Travel

The nearest international airport is located in Kraków-Balice (KRK) at a distance of about 110 km from Zakopane.

- On Sunday, August 25th, we will provide a shuttle bus from Krakow to Zakopane. Details of passenger pick-up points will be provided later.
- Return buses from Zakopane to Krakow (via the airport) will be offered on Sunday, September 1st.

You can also get to Zakopane by public transport. The journey time from Krakow to Zakopane is approximately 2.5 hours.

Visas

If you need a letter for your visa application please send an email to zakopane@ifj.edu.pl.

Satellite Event

Please note that this edition of the Zakopane Conference will be followed by the **PARIS** Collaboration meeting, which will be held at **IFJ PAN Kraków**, **September 2-3**, 2024 (https://indico.ifj.edu.pl/event/1239/).

Committees

International Advisory Committee

Navin Alahari (GANIL, Caen) Faical Azaiez (LNL, Legnaro)

María José García Borge (IEM-CSIC, Madrid)

Bogdan Fornal (IFJ PAN, Kraków)
Kevin Insik Hahn (IBS, Daejeon)
Krzysztof Pomorski (UMCS, Lublin)
Krzysztof Rusek (ŚLCJ UW, Warszawa)
Teresa Rząca-Urban (ZG PTF, Warszawa)

Hideyuki Sakai (RIKEN, Tokio)

Christoph Scheidenberger (GSI/FAIR, Darmstadt)

Local Organizing Committee

Maria Kmiecik – Chair

Katarzyna Mazurek – Managing Director

Magdalena Matejska-Minda – Scientific Secretary

Michał Ciemała – Scientific Secretary

Olga Sułek-Zarosińska Natalia Cieplicka-Oryńczak

Irene Dedes

Abdelghafar Gaamouci

Jęrzy Grębosz Paweł Kulessa Łukasz Iskra Bogdan Sowicki Mirosław Ziębliński

We look forward to seeing you in Zakopane!

The Organizers

